AIP Day 13, Thought I was having a heart attack today

Woke up to jolts of energy going through the left side of my chest this morning. Didn’t go away for an hour. Guess at that point I must’ve started getting more anxious because I had difficulty breathing. Went to the doctor, got an EKG and some bloodwork. EKG came back fine, blood pressure was 160/82. He was pretty concerned about that blood pressure, but reassured me that I wasn’t having a heart attack.

So, 160 is the highest my BP has ever been. The doc says this can have to do with thyroid disruption or other things. It could also be elevated due to anxiety and stress from being in a doctors office. But either way, it was way too high. So doctor’s orders, I gotta monitor my BP at least a couple times a week.

Came home and did Chi Gong (eight brocades practice)

I am trying to get the 8 brocades in 3 times a day. Morning, afternoon, and evening. I only had 50 mg of caffeine today and I’m definitely planning on getting off of it ASAP.


Reflecting upon today, I realize that planning on going to seattle in 1 month is too short of a timeframe. I really don’t want to rush this healing process. It may take six months or even a year. Either way, I decided to not drive out there, and to instead focus on resting up at home. Maybe I’ll make a trip out there for a day or two later this summer, but I’m going to spend the rest of summer in Florida.

I have a bunch of friends in Orlando, where I went to college, and I’m thinking of perhaps staying there for a couple months. Seeing if I still like it. I used to live an hour from the beach and surf three times a week. Maybe that’s better for me than moving all the way across the country. I really don’t know.

What I do know is that i’m not going to rush anything.


6 PM

My best friend made a video of the past year  in California. I was featured in the video like multiple times and it felt really great to be part of his life, even though we get on each others nerves all the time. We’re good friends.

He’s thinking about maybe moving back to new york to get a nice job, but he might also stay in california. I think I will go out to the west coast after all and hang out with this guy…

I wasn’t very hungry today. I only ate some veggies, steak, and turkey. But I had lots of energy and only consumed 75mg of caffeine. I think I can do 75 for a couple days… looks like I’ll be off caffeine soon after all! This isn’t so bad.

I think I am getting to the point in the diet where I have energy and clarity. I’m not like, speedy or anything, but I also don’t have that lurking “tired/depressed” feeling that’s usually in the back of my mind pushing me to use stimulants. Rather, if I need to do work, I can do it (but I’d rather not.)

I’d say this is what I normally feel like after my morning cup, except I haven’t had caffeine in 7 hours.


This evening, I took my blood pressure several times and it was within “high normal” ranges. I don’t know how it was so high this morning. Will continue to monitor.

Leave a Reply

